Eagle Eye Realty has partnered with the Chamberlin Real Estate School (DRE Sponsor S0082) to offer this unique “home-study” program, which includes online courses or textbook based courses with the benefit of “Personal Instructor Support.” This combination of distance education with instructor support has proven to be a superior method of preparing to pass the state salesperson examination. Courses include on-line homework assignments and on-line final examinations.
Our Pre-License Package Includes
- All Three Qualifying Courses (Principles, Practice, plus one more course)
- Written practice questions
- On-line interactive database of practice questions
- Personal Instructor Support
Pre-license Package w/Crash Course (with textbooks)
$260 + $15 shipping
State Exam Prep
Online State Exam Practice Questions $40
Live 2-Day Weekend Crash Course
45-Hour License Renewal Package (1st Renewal)
$59 PDFs or $69 w/books + $14 shipping
45-Hour License Renewal Package (2nd or Subsequent Renewal)
$59 PDFs or $69 w/books + $14 shipping
An applicant for the real estate salesperson examination must show proof of three courses prior to the state exam. Real Estate Principles, Real Estate Practice, and one other course from the following list will be required.
- Legal Aspects of Real Estate (recommended)
- Real Estate Property Management
- Real Estate Finance
- Real Estate Office Administration
- Real Estate Appraisal
- Mortgage Loan Brokering & Lending
- Real Estate Economics or General Accounting
Who Must Obtain a Real Estate License?
A Real Estate License is required of individuals who are to be employed as salespersons under the control and supervision of a licensed broker. A license may be obtained by a person who does not immediately intend to be employed by a broker. However, in this instance, no real estate activity may be performed. The license authorizes real estate activity only if the salesperson is in the employ of a licensed broker.
Minimum Requirements to Apply for License
Age: 18 years of age or older.
Residence: Residency in the state is not a requirement to become licensed.
Honesty: Conviction of a crime which is either a felony or involves moral turpitude may result in the denial of a license. The failure to reveal a criminal conviction on an original license application may also result in the denial of a license.
Education: Evidence of successful completion of three qualifying courses as described above.
Experience: None required.
Legal Presence in United States: None Required as of January 1, 2016
Applications for a real estate license received on or after January 1, 2016 will no longer require proof of legal presence in the United States. Applicants will still be required to provide a social security number or an individual taxpayer identification number for licensure.
License Fees: There is a $60 test fee required when you apply for the state examination. The license fee is $245 ($305 totla).
One set of classifiable electronic fingerprints and a fingerprint processing fee are required from every license applicant. Original license applicants who reside in California will pay a $49 fingerprint processing fee directly to the live scan fingerprint service provider.
STEP-BY-STEP PROCESS TO COMPLETE THE CHAMBERLIN PROGRAM
STEP 1: Complete the Qualifying Courses
All three pre-license courses are required by the California Department of Real Estate before you can apply for the state exam. They are designed to give you a basic understanding of the necessary subjects and a foundation of real estate terminology.
STEP 2: Apply for the State Exam
Once you have successfully completed all three required courses, it is time to apply for the state exam by mailing the Combined Salesperson Examination Application (RE 435A) and Fingerprint Live Scan Service Request (RE 237) to DRE along with proof of completion of the required courses and $305 total (License fee: $245 + Exam fee: $60). DRE processing time for state exam applications is 4-6 weeks.
IMPORTANT: Call us to talk about scheduling the Live 2-Day Crash Course before you apply for a state examination date. The crash course is to be taken the weekend before your state exam test date.
STEP 3: Work on the Practice Tests
If you enroll in our complete pre-license package, you will receive both written and/or online practice tests called California Final Briefing Examinations. This is the most important phase of your studying. Now that you have a foundation of knowledge from the pre-license courses, you will now study the subject matter in more detail by looking at sample state exam questions. Your goal is to take and retake these sample exams until you are scoring 90% or better (on each practice test) before taking the actual state examination. Concentrate on learning the subjects rather than memorizing the questions.
The California Department of Real Estate allows a course to be completed in a minimum time of 2 1/2 weeks PER COURSE (18 calendar days) from the date you receive your material. The maximum time is one year from the date of enrollment. Completion of the course means passing the Principles final examination.
Once you have successfully completed all three course final exams, we will send you an official Course Completion Certificate. From the day you mail your application to the DRE, it usually takes 4 to 6 weeks to get a state exam test date.
Timeline for Overall Licensing Process
- Complete qualifying courses: 7 ½ weeks minimum (of course you may progress at your own pace)
- Mail examination application to DRE and wait for processing: 4-6 weeks
- Schedule state test date through eLicensing and PASS state exam
- Apply for license (license fees, fingerprints, background check): 2-3 weeks